Reel Music gets involved in the inaugural IFMCA Radio broadcast

The IFMCA is proud to announce the launch of IFMCA RADIO. The first show celebrates the music nominated for the 2012 IFMCA Awards. A number of members were asked to introduce a few tracks from nominated scores that they felt were particularly worthy of being highlighted. The couple of cues that I chose to be included in the show are from scores nominated in the “Best Original Score For A Television Series” category: “The Fallen” from John Lunn’s DOWNTON ABBEY and “I Am The Doctor In Utah” taken from Murray Gold’s score for Series 6 of DOCTOR WHO.

Please take a listen to the show at the IFMCA website. Below is the IFMCA announcement of the first show of IFMCA Radio. Enjoy!


The International Film Music Critics Association is proud to announce the launch of IFMCA Radio, a new audio feature which will bring a new, dynamic aspect to the IFMCA’s work.

This inaugural broadcast of IFMCA Radio celebrates the music nominated for the 2012 IFMCA Awards, and features selections by several members which represent, in their opinion, some of the best individual film, TV and video game cues from 2012.

The selections in this special 2-hour programme includes music from JOHN CARTER (Michael Giacchino), JOURNEY (Austin Wintory), SECRET OF THE WINGS (Joel McNeely), DOWNTON ABBEY (John Lunn), DOCTOR WHO (Murray Gold), CLOUD ATLAS (Tom Tykwer/Johnny Klimek/Reinhold Heil), RISE OF THE GUARDIANS (Alexandre Desplat), THE IMPOSSIBLE (Fernando Velázquez), METSÄN TARINA (Panu Aaltio), DANS LA MAISON (Philippe Rombi), TED (Walter Murphy), PARANORMAN (Jon Brion), STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE (Jerry Goldsmith), LINCOLN (John Williams), SKYFALL (Thomas Newman), THE DARK KNIGHT RISES (Hans Zimmer), KINGDOMS OF AMALUR: RECKONING (Grant Kirkhope), LIFE OF PI (Mychael Danna), ISABEL (Federico Jusid), ANNA KARENINA (Dario Marianelli), MOONRISE KINGDOM (Alexandre Desplat), BEASTS OF THE SOUTHERN WILD (Dan Romer/Benh Zeitlin), WIR WOLLTEN AUFS MEER (Nic Raine), and QUO VADIS (Miklós Rózsa).

Participating members include:

  • Jon Broxton, Movie Music UK
  • Tim Burden, Film Score Monthly/Movie Magic
  • Demetris Christodoulides, Score Magacine
  • Christopher Coleman, TrackSounds
  • Erin Veronica Corrado, One Movie Five Views
  • Paul Cote, Cinemusic
  • Clark Douglas, Movie Music UK/WHIE Radio
  • Oscar Flores, Film Music Site
  • Dimitri Riccio, Colonne Sonore
  • Alan Rogers, Reel Music/MainTitles
  • Brian Satterwhite, Nuance Music/Film Score Focus
  • Erik Woods, Cinematic Sound Radio

The broadcast also includes a brand new piece of music, the “IFMCA Fanfare”, which was written exclusively for the IFMCA by composer David Coscina, as well as insert bumpers and liners by voiceover artist and broadcaster Roy Hall.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: